Stations of the Cross

On the walls of most Catholic Churches, fourteen pictures, carvings or statues can be found, depicting Jesus’s journey, from his presence before Pilate, the Roman Governor who condemns him to death, until his death on the cross and his burial in the tomb.

1: Jesus is concemned to death

“All deserted Him and fled.”

Mark 14:50

2: Jesus is made to bear his cross

“Jesus said to all: ‘Whoever wishes to be My follower must deny his very self, take up his cross each day, and follow in My steps.”

Luke 9:23

3: Jesus falls the first time

“The woman saw that the tree was good for food, pleasing to the eyes, and desirable for gaining wisdom. So she took some of its fruit and ate it; and she also gave some to her husband, who was with her, and he ate it.”

Genesis 3:6 (The first sin)

4: Jesus meets his afflicted mother

“Simeon blessed them and said to Mary His mother: ‘This Child is destined to be the Downfall and the Rise of many in Israel, a sign that will be opposed — and you yourself shall be pierced with a sword — so that the thoughts of many hearts may be laid bare.'”

— Luke 2:34-35

5: Simon helps Jesus carry his cross

“As they led Him away, they laid hold of one Simon the Cyrenean who was coming in from the fields. They put a crossbeam on Simon’s shoulder for him to carry along behind Jesus.”

— Luke 23:26

6: Veronica wipes the face of Jesus

“Even as many were amazed at Him — so marred was His look beyond that of man, and His appearance beyond that of mortals — So shall He startle many nations, because of Him kings shall stand speechless.”

— Isaiah 52:14-15

7: Jesus falls the second time

“For when men have once been enlightened and have tasted the heavenly gift and become sharers in the Holy Spirit, when they have tasted the good word of God and the powers of the age to come, and then have fallen away, it is impossible to make them repent again, since thy are crucifying the Son of God for themselves and holding Him up to contempt.”

— Hebrews 6:4-6

8: Jesus speaks to the women of Jerusalem

“Thus says the Lord: ‘In Ramah is heard the sound of moaning, of bitter weeping! Rachel mourns her children, she refuses to be consoled because her children are no more.’ Thus says the Lord: ‘Cease your cries of mourning, wipe the tears from your eyes. The sorrow you have shown shall have its reward,’ says the Lord, ‘they shall return from the enemy’s land. There is hope for your future.'”

— Jeremiah 31:15-17

9: Jesus falls the third time

“He will revive us after two days; on the third day He will raise us up.”

— Hosea 6:2

10: Jesus is stripped of his garments

“Then the eyes of both of them were opened, and they realized that they were naked; so they sewed fig leaves together and made loincloths for themselves.”

— Genesis 3:17

11: Jesus is nailed to the cross

“He was pierced for our offenses, crushed for our sins, upon Him was the chastisement that makes us whole, by His stripes we were healed.”

— Isaiah 53:5

12: Jesus dies upon the cross

“Silence before Him, all the earth!”

— Habakkuk 2:20

13: Jesus is taken down from the cross

“Rather, He emptied Himself and took the form of a slave, being born in the likeness of men. He was known to be of human estate, and it was thus that He humbled Himself.”

— Philippians 2:7-8

14: The burial of Jesus

“In baptism you were not only buried with Him but also raised to life with Him because you believed in the power of God Who raised Him from the dead.”

— Colossians 2:12

Jesus said to her,

“I am the resurrection and the life;

he who believes in me, though he die, yet shall he live,

and whoever lives and believes in me shall never die.

Do you believe this?”

— John 11:25-26